Spiritual Meaning of Colors
Tell a friend about this page
Reading aura can be a fun and exciting line of work to get into. Everyone's aura changes color at any given time depending on what they are doing, what is going on around them and the situations they are involved with.

Here are the basic color and meanings with each below to help explain a bit more on reading aura colors:

Red: This is the densest color and creates the most friction. This color deals with money worries or obsessions; anger or non-forgiveness; anxiety or nervousness.

Orange: This deals with vitality, vigor, good health and excitement. It is suggestive of energy and stamina, creative, productive, adventurous, courageous, outgoing social nature; currently experiencing stress related to appetites and addictions.

Yellow: TIt is the color of awakening, inspiration, intelligence and action shared, creative, playful, optimistic, easy-going.

Green: It is a very comfortable, healthy color of nature. When seen in the aura this usually represents growth and balance, and most of all, something that leads to change.

Blue: It is suggestive of cool, calm, and collected issues, along with caring, loving, sensitive, and intuitive.

Indigo: This color is suggestive of intuition, sensitive, and deep feeling.

Violet: The most sensitive and wisest of colors. This is the intuitive color in the aura, and reveals psychic power of attunement with self.

Black: This color draws or pulls energy to it and in so doing, transforms it. It captures light and consumes it.

White: This color relates to other energy. A pure state of light. It is suggestive of spiritual issues, etheric and non-physical qualities, transcendent, and higher dimensions.

There are many other colors your aura can shown as well as variations of these colors, such as turquoise is a color combination of blue and green and relates to different meanings.

This is a list of the 7 main colors on the visual spectrum as well as black and white. These are the major ones that are shown in an aura reading. Other colors can be shown such as gold, silver, lavender, as well as variations of the above mentioned 7 main colors.
White represents purity, spirituality and peace. In some cultures it is the color of death and mourning. 

Red symbolizes health, energy, strength, sexual virility, courage and the masculine principle in Nature. 

Pink is associated with romantic love, affection and friendship. 

Yellow is the color of the intellect, the powers of the creative imagination, memory, communication and mental agility. 

Green equals abundance, fertility, good luck and harmony. 

Blue is the color of healing, truth, inspiration, higher wisdom, occult power and psychic protection, understanding, good health and the feminine principle in Nature. 

Purple symbolizes success in financial affairs, psychic ability of a highly developed form, idealism and spiritual power. 

Gold attracts positive influences and it's connected with justice and career matters. 

Silver represents clairvoyance, astral energies and channeling, also the faculty of far memory and remembering past lives. 

Black is never used to attract evil, but to dispel it. It is a powerful color for change and is used to ban confusion, discord, evil, and loss. 

Brown is used to rid one of hesitation, neutrality, and uncertainty. 
Reading Auras
Candles and Color 

Color is very important in candle magic. Color has subtle influences and each one vibrates at a different frequency. Different colored candles are used for different magical end results. Different colors have different effects on the human psyche and the surrounding environment. These colors and their vibrations are also closely linked with the psychic energy within each person.
Astrology and the use of color 

Aries (March 21 - April 20) Ruling planet - Mars. 
Shades of red, usually the darker shades of scarlet or crimson. Magically the planet Mars is the purifier and destroyer who sweeps aside the stagnant, the unwanted and the redundant so progress can be made. Red also represents the creative principle and the unconscious urge for the human species to reproduce itself, for life and death are two aspects of the same energy. 

Taurus (April 21 - May 21) Ruling planet - Venus. 
Green, ranging from the palest apple green to the dark olive of the earth forces. Green represents the spiritual desire to unite the opposites and to balance the dual forces of male and female. This union was known to the medieval alchemists as "the sacred marriage" and is symbolized in magic and Wicca by the ritual metaphor of the sword in the chalice. 

Gemini (May 22 - June 21) Ruling planet - Mercury. 
Yellow is the color of this Zodiac sign representing communication and the power of the mind. In occult tradition Gemini is a symbol of the dualism. 

Cancer (June 22 - July 22) Ruling planet - the moon. 
Metallic blue and silver are the colors of the lunar sphere. It is the realm of the unconscious, the hidden side of the personality and psychic forces. 

Leo (July 23 - August 23) Ruling planet - the sun. 
Its colors are gold and orange. The sun represents the life force and is the visible symbol of the Cosmic Creator in the solar system. 

Virgo (August 24 - September 23) Ruling planet - Mercury. 
Reddish-yellow is the color associated with the analytical abilities of the mind in the quest for scientific knowledge. 

Libra (September 24 - October 23) Ruling planet - Venus. 
Libra's colors are sky blue and rose pink. It symbolizes the heights attainable by romantic and spiritual love. 

Scorpio (October 24 - November 22) Ruling planet - Pluto. 
Dark red or silvery gray. The energy of the Plutonian sphere is connected with Mars and represents death and regeneration. Pluto rules over the underworld, the spirits of the departed and nuclear power. 

Sagittarius (November 23 - December 21) Ruling planet - Jupiter. 
Purple and royal blue are the colors of this Zodiac sign. It is an expansive planetary energy connected with the world of finance and social matters. 

Capricorn (December 22 - January 20) Ruling planet - Saturn. 
Black is the primary color of the saturnine energy. It rules karma, fate and destiny, the law, old age and property matters. 

Aquarius (January 21 - February 19) Ruling planet - Uranus. 
The color of this astrological sign combines all the shades of the spectrum in a flashing rainbow pattern. This planetary energy is a higher octave of Saturn and rules over magic (forces, astrology and modern technology like television, video and computers). 

Pisces (February 20 - March 20) Ruling planet - Neptune. 
Sea green or indigo are the colors of Pisces, which is connected with the planetary energy of Jupiter. Neptune rules over inspiration, matters connected with the sea, pleasure, and entertainment, especially the movie industry. 
Colors over the years have come to mean many things to different cultures. Symbols and metaphors help us understand our everyday language and figures of speech. Almost every item, every word, every idea hides a certain symbolism. Colors are rich in hidden meanings and symbolisms. 

Certainly everyone has heard these familiar phrases: feeling blue, seeing red, green with envy; colors being associated with emotions. How about these: blue blood, red carpet, purple heart, black market, and the orange bowl. The foundation for color symbolism has been built upon many centuries of history, religion, tradition and superstition. Did you know that in Christianity the color green was banned at one time for its connection as a pagan color? 
Astoria Brown Psychic Readings